Island

He said, I went to visit my sister on the island.

He said, the children came running to greet the ferry. I wondered, where is this place?

He said, I was lucky, the weather was good. They were making bread. So I made my bread.

He said, the doors were all open. It was the old place, and it was like stumbling through time into childhood.

He said, we went to the lighthouse because of the ghost. They said they had locked the door. But it was open. 

He said, and then I took the ferry home. The weather was changing. The door was closing. 

Umbrella

Island and photo (umbrella) copyright Joe Lepiano 1988

Leave a Reply

